10th General Conference 「To promote the sangha’s harmonious spirit. To create the harmonious society and blissful humanity.」


The Tenth General Conference of WBSC

To promote the sangha’s harmonious spirit.

To create the harmonious society and blissful humanity.


     Facing the turmoil world situation of today, which are caused by the gap between the rich and the poor as well as the class contradiction resulted from the highly developed economy, or the innocent people’s displacement and suffering resulted from the powerful countries’ bullying the weak countries, we sangha members, as the head of the Buddha’s seven categories of disciples, should promote the sangha’s harmonious spirit to educate and benefit the living beings, and create the harmonious society and blissful humanity. Based on the consensus achieved from the discussion during this conference, we would like to declare as follows:

  1. “Harmony between the extremes is the principle of living.” The Buddha applied the six principles of harmony to lead his disciples. Internally, all should “observe the same silas, hold the same views, and enjoy the same profits.” Externally, all should “live peacefully, speak nicely, and think pleasantly.” The ancient principle of harmony is “Treat the people with truth, and feed the people with morality.” Today’s principle of harmony is “Cooperate with one mind, tolerate and accept each other, and coordinate all things.” Only through this, we can work together to let the four classes of Buddhists live happily and purely, the Buddha dharma exist in the world, the wrong views be corrected, and the living beings be relieved of sufferings.
  2. “Agree to disagree is the principle to cultivate all things.” Respect is the premise of harmony. We should look for the similarity while accept the dissimilarity, and become great through tolerance. Different individuals and groups should respect each other, learn from each other, and adopt other’s goodness to improve one’s own weakness in order to achieve the goal of mutual progress. As the saying goes, “The noble men are harmonious with difference, and the mean people are indifferent with disharmony.” Therefore, the essence of harmony is not to deny the existence of contradiction, but to beget the harmonious relations of pluralistic existence through the process of solving the contradiction on the basis of respect and equality.
  3. “Harmony so rhythm, rhythm so consonance.” The harmonious society is the most beautiful state of human civilization, and also the most important cornerstone of world peace. The dissimilarities of all things in the world is the fact of objective existence. Only applying the sangha’s thought of harmony and space-like cultural tolerance and openness to welcome the new thought and new idea, and to shorten the distance between the tradition and the modernity, the humanity and the ethnicity, the globalization and the localization, etc. that we can finally bring the different races and cultures to progress with time, and immerse into the trend of time. Consequently, we can become “rhythmic and consonant totally and invincibly,” and create together the human blissful land of mutual prosperity and co-existence, and harmonious society.